About the District

The Brazoria County Groundwater Conservation District (BCGCD) was created by Texas statute to maintain and protect the groundwater resources of Brazoria County. Directed by a five-member board of directors, the BCGCD is proactively addressing groundwater issues by working with groundwater users to manage and plan for groundwater use.

The BCGCD was confirmed by county voters in an election held November 8, 2005. During this election, five initial directors were selected—one director from the entire county (at-large) and one director from each county commissioner's precinct. Since this initial election, directors are elected for staggered four year terms during May elections.

The BCGCD may not tax or collect any kind of fee or require a meter on private water wells used for agricultural use as defined by Chapter 36 of the Texas Water Code or for a single family residence in Brazoria County. However, it may impose fees on certain municipal, industrial, and commercial users (see rules), and may collect additional fees on groundwater exported from the county.

The Legislative Services Consultant Contract as required by Sec. 2254.030, Government Code can be accessed HERE.

District Phone Numbers

Phone: (979) 864-1078; Fax: (979) 864-1079 Angleton area
Phone: (979) 388-1078; Fax: (979) 388-1079 Clute area
Phone: (281) 756-1078; Fax: (281) 756-1079 Alvin area

District Mailing Address

111 E. Locust Street
Building A-29, Suite 140
Angleton, Texas 77515

District Physical Address

451 N. Velasco Street
Angleton, Texas 77515

Brazoria County Groundwater Conservation District
Board of Directors

Name & Position

Current Term

Patrick O'Day (At-large) - President 5/2020 - 5/2024
Dennis Davenport (Pct. 2) - Vice President 5/2022 – 5/2026
Charlie Greenberg (Pct. 1) - Director 5/2022 – 5/2026
Gary Moore (Pct. 3) - Asst. Sec. 5/2022 – 5/2026
Robby Goolsby (Pct. 4) -Secretary 5/2022 – 5/2024

District Staff



Contact Info

General Manager

Beverly Hopkins


Administrative Assistant

Jodie Parnell


Field Operations Coordinator

Michael White